Week Forty Two?

IMG_5321This is it. I’ve been threatening (promising?) that my daily posts were coming to an end for the last several weeks, and now we’re here. This is my two hundred eighty eighth post in as many days and my last for a little bit.

I have covered every batch of beer that I’ve brewed in the last four years and done tasting notes on as many of them as I still have around. That was my goal in starting this blog and now that I’ve accomplished it, it is time for the blog to change course.

I’m going to take a few weeks off and come back with a new format in the new year. I have some time off work over the holidays, so, of course I plan to brew a few batches. I don’t want to get behind, so I’ll still make brew day posts for them, but that will be it until I work out the kinks in the new format.

I’ll return in January, first to outline what the new format will be and then to update on all my current and upcoming batches, then launch into the new blog. When I started this blog, I didn’t have a clear idea of what it was going to become and it has evolved through necessity as I forced myself to post seven days a week. In phase two, I’ll take what I’ve learned and put in a lot more planning to make the blog more consistent and hopefully all around better. I’m hoping to post two or three times a week in the new year, but the main goal will just be to raise the quality of the content here.

I’ve written over one hundred seventy one thousand words on this blog this year and I’m proud of the fact that I’ve stuck with it, but I definitely think it is time to try to take more pride in the individual posts.

Before I get to the new format, I’ll be brewing my second Brett beer and starting this Winter’s series of lagers… and maybe one or two more batches, so check back for write ups on those brew days over the holidays and come back in the new year to see what I have planned for phase two. For now, I’m signing off to catch my breath. Thanks to everyone who has been following along since I started this blog on February 24, whether you’ve read all 288 posts, skimmed them or just picked the ones that interested you, I appreciate it.

Leave a Reply

