Remnants Ale


7 O’Clock Bitter was my first all grain batch. With the second runnings, though, I decided to use up my stockpile of extract… and the hops in the freezer… and the yeast in the fridge. The result was Remnants. As you can probably guess, it was not my finest hour, but it was surprisingly drinkable.

Starting with second runnings from an English Bitter, I then added two pounds each of wheat DME and light DME. This took the gravity to about 1.060. I bittered with most of an ounce of leftover Magnum hops and a smaller amount of Pearle. I added a full ounce of Hallertaur late in the boil for aroma and another ounce in the dry hop.

I fermented it with Kölsch yeast that I washed from last year’s batch of Amy Ni-Kölsch. It was well past its use by date, but it got things started quickly. It stalled out very early, though and I decided to add some Champagne yeast because again, that is just what happened to be in the freezer. The gravity ended up extremely low, but the beer still had a definite sweetness on the palate from the combination of malts in the original Bitter recipe.

Because of the hops and yeast I had, I was going for sort of a “German Pale Ale,” meaning something along the lines of an American Pale Ale with German ingredients, but the English malts definitely came through strong. The bitterness was a bit intense at first, but it seemed to settle in quickly.

Then there was another issue. I didn’t label most of these bottles. I thought everything else was labeled, these were just filler beers, it didn’t matter. Well, they got pretty mixed up pretty quickly. I’m pretty sure I should still have a bunch of this stuff in the basement, but I haven’t been able to find any for tasting notes so far. Hopefully I can dig one out soon.

Remnants
Style: German Hopped English Pale Ale with Wheat?
Brew Date: June 18, 2013
Serve Date: August, 2013
OG: 1.060
Expected FG: 1.006
Approximate ABV: 7%
IBUs: 70

Fermentables:
Second runnings from 7 O’Clock Bitter
2 lb. Wheat DME
2 lb. Light DME

Hops (approximately 4 gallon boil)
.7 oz Magnum @ 60 min
.4 oz Pearle @ 60 min
1 oz Hallertauer @ 2 min
1 oz Hallertauer Dry Hop

Yeast:
Kölsch yeast and Champagne Yeast

Leave a Reply

