PROOF Wax Dipping

IMG_4300I’ve been wanting to try this for a while and PROOF was the perfect opportunity. Commercial breweries love to do all kinds of special packaging on their big beers, but I have a problem with a lot of them. I love big, strong beers but it is a very rare time that I want 750 ml of ten plus percent alcohol beer.

Corked and caged bottles look great and smaller bottles finished that way are becoming more prevalent, but they are not the norm. I guess that is the point, though. The idea is to look different and special. I definitely didn’t want PROOF in anything bigger than a twelve ounce serving, but I didn’t want it to look like a bottle out of a case that you are going to drink six of on a Saturday afternoon. Wax coating the caps, as I said, was the perfect option.

I read a lot of tutorials online before attempting this, but ultimately I didn’t really follow them beyond the very basics. Most of the them suggested three glue sticks for every crayon, then later complained that the wax was hard to peel off. Anyway, I’m going write out my own tutorial below.

What you need (for approximately 48 bottles):
12 crayons
25 glue sticks for a glue gun
aluminum can (from soup, vegetables or whatever)
something to stir that you don’t mind ruining (I used a kabob stick)
a stovetop or other heat source
newspaper to keep dripping wax from making too big of a mess

IMG_4293

First, cut off the paper labels from your crayons. You can use different colors and mix them together. I used three each of Red, Scarlet and Violet Red to end up with a nice deep red color. My original plan was to use two glue sticks, but the glue sticks came in a pack of twenty five, so I ended up with one extra in there.

IMG_4296With the crayons stripped, add them and the glue to the can and put it on the stovetop over low heat. I was surprised how quickly the mixture melted, so be ready to stir it up and have your bottles ready to go. Once the contents of the can get to a thorough consistency and the color is well blended, you can get started.

IMG_4297Dip the bottles, one at a time, into the wax, straight up and down and quickly pull it out. As it leaves the can, give it a twist make sure there is no tail going back to the can. Then quickly turn the bottle around. If you aren’t quick enough, the wax will solidify and you won’t get the nice dripping effect.

Keep moving. That is the key. The wax does not take long at all to dry. I also found that it began to darken as I went along. This is very easy, but you need to move quickly.

I’m very happy with how these turned out. If you have a special beer, whether it is for a gift, a special event or just personally important, wax dipping is a great way to set it apart.

Leave a Reply

