‘Merican Wit Tasting Notes

Original Post: ‘Merican Wit
Style: Americanized Wit Beer
Brew Date: July 3, 2013
Tasting Date: October 25, 2014
ABV: 5.3%
IBUs: 39

MericanWitLabelThis was one of my favorite beers when it was fresh. I haven’t had one in a long time but there are two or three more in the basement. Lets see how it’s held up.

Woo. Okay. Way over carbonated. Some gushing. I managed to get most of the beer into the glass, but I had to do a little bit of clean up before returning to write this. What I got is very clear, with what appears to be a couple of dry hop leaf floaters. It has a pure white, fluffy head. Other than those floaters, it looks pretty nice. Although, this is one time that the clarity is actually a bit out of style. Not that this is a classic wit beer to begin with, but I’d still like to see the classic wheat-y haze.

Taking a sniff, I get earthy, yeast derived aromas. The hops are gone and this is not as fruity as I expect with a wit, but it smells very good. My first sip is very dry. It tastes great though it barely resembles a wit. This tastes like a classic Belgian Saison.

IMG_4701There is some fruitiness in the taste that wasn’t detectable in the aroma, but it is still earthy saison fermentation character that dominates. The fruity, citrusy, dank fresh hop character is gone, but this is still much more bitter than a standard wit, again pushing it towards a saison. Some general dankness is still present, but the clarity and distinctness is gone and the other hop flavors have completely faded.

This is still a really good beer, though it is much different from what I remember. A lot of that can be explained by the age. The hops are faded, the beer has dried out, but the fermentation character is not what I remember or would expect from this yeast.

I wanted to re-brew this beer this past Summer, but it just didn’t happen. I’m thinking for next Summer I’d like to do a classic wit and another beer using Centennial and Citra hops. I love that combination and they are sorely missed here. That was expected, but what wasn’t expected was the fact that this is still a very enjoyable beer. So enjoyable, in fact, that my glass is empty.

Leave a Reply

