N.E. Pilsener Tasting Notes

IMG_3646 Original Post: N.E. Pilsener
Style: Bohemian Pilsenrer
Brew Date: February 20, 2013
Tasting Date: August 21, 2014
ABV: 5.7%
IBUs: 47

This, again, is a beer well past its prime. I will not stop, though. If I have anything left from a batch, I’m doing tasting notes. So here we go.

It is lively. Not over carbed, but I’d say close. Bright, white, fluffy head. A nice mix of large and small bubbles. What causes that? Anyway, the beer itself is bright tan. I almost said yellow, but it is a little dark for that. Yellow highlights for sure, though.

The aroma is malty. Light bread. Not “light” like there isn’t much, light as in white bread. I guess I could have just said that. I remember this having a nice hop tilted balance, but I get no hint of that here.
IMG_3650
Taking a sip and the malt train continues. There is some cardboard-y old homebrew taste, but it is not too offensive. The malt is still the main highlight. I would say, in fact that this could pass for a decent Helles. The age shows, but it is still enjoyable.

Initially, I was concerned with how low the gravity of this beer dropped. Although I didn’t intend to age it, I think that low gravity may have helped it age a bit. It is almost like a cleaner Belgian Blonde. That may seem to contradict my previous Helles comment. It’s somewhere in between the two?

I’m not sure if that makes any sense what so ever, but neither does aging a Pilsner for a year and a half. I’ll tell you what, though, it’s going down nice and easy. I don’t mean to cut this short, but my beer is just about gone and you know the rules.

Yes. I just finished the beer. Tasting notes over. Overall impression: definitely diminished, but still more enjoyable than I would have expected.

Leave a Reply

