Russ Snow

BeerLabelRussNSnowThis “batch” is half Snow Wheat and half lemon lime soda. I posted about Shandy and Radler and mentioned that Russ was Radler with wheat beer. Radler is one of Amy’s favorite things, so I made this for her.

I just posted about Snow Wheat, I added a gallon of store brand diet lemon lime soda to the gallon that I saved from that batch. I was apprehensive about trying to bottle un carbonated beer and carbonated soda together. I was worried it would either be flat or over carbonated, but it worked out just fine.

The beer was already in a bottling bucket. I poured the soda on top as gingerly as possible, trying not to oxidize the beer or let the soda go flat. I primed it with sugar as if I was only bottling the gallon of beer. As I mentioned, despite my reservations, it came out appropriately carbonated.

It turns out that I don’t really like Russ. Happily, Amy loved it. I have never bottled pre-mixed Radler before or since, it’s too bad that I didn’t like this version, I love Radler with Kölsch.

Anyway, if you are interested in this sort of thing, go for it. You probably want to finish it fairly quickly, but it worked out better than I expected.

Leave a Reply

