Henry’s Sheltie Pale Ale

IMG_20121209_161831

In 2012, I foolishly decided to brew a bunch of beers for specific people for Christmas gifts. Right before this, I had brewed Valor’s Golden Glory, CVP, Very Neat Cherry Wheat and Moktoberfest… some of my favorites I’d made up to that point. I was on a roll. Then I started brewing much more frequently than I normally do to try to get beer ready for Christmas and the results were mixed.

The first three of these beers were what I dubbed “The Dogs of Christmas” series. This was the first of those and I’ll cover the rest later this week. This one was named for Henry, just a puppy at the time and a new member of my sister’s family.

The beer was not exactly a clone, but pretty closely modeled after Sierra Nevada Pale Ale. Aside from brewing a lot, I was also starting to try to wash and reuse yeast. The yeast I intended to use for this batch did was not viable. I gave it over twenty four hours and it never started, so I finally pitched new yeast.IMG_20121224_101213

The beer did not turn out very well. I’m not sure if the fermentation issue was the only problem, and I don’t really even remember what exactly it tasted like. I just know it was off, but it’s long gone now.

The recipe, which is below, is adapted from an all grain clone recipe for Sierra Nevada that I found online. The gravity is slightly lowered and it was converted to an extract recipe. The hopping rates are very similar to Sierra Nevada, though. I intended to use the Chico/California Ale/Sierra Nevada yeast strain, but after the initial pitch didn’t take, I ended up using Nottingham.

BeerLabelHenrysSheltiePaleAle

Style: American Pale Ale
Brew Date: November 7, 2012
Serve Date: Christmas 2012
Original Gravity: 1.047
Final Gravity: 1.01
ABV: 4.8%
IBUs: 38

Fermentables:
1 lb Crystal Malt 60L
7 lb LME

Hops:
.4 oz Magnum @ 60 min
.4 oz Pearle @ 30 min
1 oz Cascade @ 10 min
2 oz Cascade @ Flameout

Yeast:
Nottingham Dry Ale Yeast (California Ale preferred)

Leave a Reply

