Celebrating Three Years of Homebrewing: Irish Red Ale Tasting Notes

Yes, it was three years ago today that I brewed my very first batch of beer. It was an Irish Red Ale extract kit from Midwest Supplies and I saved a bunch to drink every year on the anniversary. Here are my tasting notes for this three year old beer that probably should have been consumed within about six months.
20140621-141142-51102160.jpg

Original Post: My First Batch
Style: Red Ale
Brew Date: June 21, 2011
Tasting Date: June 21, 2014

It’s a bit of a gusher. This was not a problem when it was fresh. I wonder if something has gotten in there? It smells very dry. I was expecting cardboard, but I don’t get any of that on the nose.

The first sip is definitely a bit sour. Woo, much more sour in the aftertaste. And bitter. Not hop bitterness, more like grapefruit rinds. What has happened here? This is neither the beer I remember or anywhere near what I expected to find.

I’m not sure what has infected this, but it has definitely turned into a different beast. The initial flavor is actually pretty nice. A little sour with some slight roast malt character, but upon swallowing it gets extremely, unpleasantly bitter.20140621-141142-51102492.jpg

I am very curious if this how all of the bottles of this have become. I have a feeling this bottle may be unique. My plan is to continue only drinking one a year, though so I guess I’ll have to wait to find out.

Leave a Reply

