Extract Kölsch Tasting Notes

20140602-203204-73924688.jpg

 
Original Post: Kölsch
Style: Kölsch
Brew Date: April, 2012
Original Serve Date: June 2012
ABV: 3.8%
This is a last minute addition to Vintage Beer Tasting Notes Week. I just found this bottle after already writing most of the rest of the posts for this week. It is older than a lot of the beers I’ve already done, so I’m pushing everything else back to fit it in.

20140602-203204-73924371.jpg

This beer has not held up well. Not that you would expect it to. It is full of yeast and protein. Cloudy to the point of being soupy. Not what you want in a Kölsch. If you can get past how hideous it is, though, it doesn’t taste too bad. It’s very bready. Is this bread yeast? I hope there aren’t any more bottles of this hiding in the basement.

Yes, it doesn’t taste too bad, but it is extremely one dimensional and boring. Bready is really the only word I can think of to describe it. It feels almost gritty in the back of my throat, there is so much sediment and… junk floating around.

I already gave some recommendations on how to improve this recipe in my original post about this batch, now I have another one: don’t save it for two plus years.20140602-203152-73912777.jpg

Leave a Reply

