Grim’s Pale Ale Tasting Notes

20140602-203152-73912475.jpg

Original Post: Grim’s Pale Ale
Style: American Pale Ale
Brew Date: July 2011
Original Serve Date: August 2011
This is the first batch of beer I made that I was not happy with. Thus, I still have a few bottles close to three years later. This will be the first one that I’ve opened in a very long time. I remember it having an extremely grassy flavor, being over carbonated, thin and generally unpleasant. Let’s have a drink!

I was afraid I was going to have a gusher on my hands, but that was not the case. It’s lively but not trying to escape the bottle. Huge, fluffy white head. Light orange color with a lot of stuff floating around. It actually smells sort of nice. I’m getting some clover honey aroma, I don’t remember that at all. The foam is making it hard to get the first sip.

Okay, got it. It’s very bitter and still has hints of Cascade hop flavor, but there is definitely something amiss. It tastes somewhat soapy, a bit sweet and then a whole lot of bitter. I don’t remember it being this bitter.

The soapy, paper like character is probably cause from oxidation, but it’s not because the beer is old. It’s been there since the beginning. I think it stems from the fact that I dumped the beer from primary fermentation in a bucket through a funnel into a carboy for secondary. This is a terrible idea, by the way. You need to siphon it.

Anyway. Everything else has held up remarkably well considering how old this pale, hoppy beer is. I’m surprised by the bitterness. This is the bright side, I guess. This beer doesn’t taste very good, but the bitterness cleans it up fairly quickly. There is some papery aftertaste left in the back of my throat, but my tongue is ready for another sip.

I don’t remember it being this sweet, either. As I mentioned, I remembered it being thin. Maybe this is my mind changes history because I know that it was a partial mash kit, which I did not know how to work with. Maybe I’m just assuming I must have screwed up the mash as badly as I did the fermentation and didn’t get conversion.

There is still some beer left but… it’s not going down well. I’m going to go ahead and call it here.

Leave a Reply

