Evidence Belgian Imperial IPA Brew Day

20140527-212414-77054281.jpg

Evidence is PROOF’s little brother, although it’s not so little. My efficiency for PROOF was not as good as I hoped, but that allowed for my “small” second runnings beer to be very big. I covered my overly complicated mash yesterday, but here is a recap of how I got the wort that became Evidence.

After conducting two separate mashes, one in my normal cooler mash tun and one BIAB mash in my kettle, I combined the grains from each and added more water. The water was at around 185º and I simply added it until I couldn’t fit any more. I stirred it up and then let it sit for a few minutes. After that, I gave it another stir and began draining it. I collected as much wort as I could, which ended up being about four gallons. It was around 1.065 pre-boil original gravity.

20140527-181402-65642787.jpg

This is a bit higher gravity than I was planning on. My plan was very loose and the gravity helped give it last minute shape. Beforehand, I bought a vial of White Labs Saison II yeast and planned to use some of the leftover Columbus hops from PROOF.

I was thinking I’d do something along the lines of Table Cat, though I figured the gravity would be a little bit higher. Since it ended up much higher, I decided to keep the late hopping of Table Cat, but to push it to the extreme. I hop burst this stuff into the ground. Nothing until fifteen minutes from the end of the boil, but eight ounces between then and the fermenter. Then another two ounces dry hopped (finishing off the pound of Columbus I have).

This is basically going to be Belgian Double IPA. Which is a ridiculous name, but at this point you can just do anything, backload it with hops and call it a blank blank IPA, right? I like my Double IPA’s extra dry and while the saison yeast should get it pretty dry already, I’m going to add some sugar to be safe. I would normally use corn sugar for this, but since I’m already using brown sugar in PROOF, I decided to use it here, too.

I like to wait until fermentation is well underway before adding any adjunct sugar to make sure the yeast go to work on the malt sugars before they tire themselves out, so I’ll be adding a half pound of brown sugar in a few days when the beer is fermenting away.

After active fermentation is done, I’ll rack it and give another week or so before hitting it with the first ounce of dry hops. After five more days, I’ll give it the other ounce. I haven’t done this staggered dry hop method before, but a lot of people swear by it so I’ll give it a shot. I think I’ll be kind of missing the point of it by doing two additions of the same hop, but it will work either way.

The simplified (ignoring the mashing method) recipe is below. The hopping rate may seem kind of low for an IPA of this size but I want to leave some room for the yeast to shine through. I think this should be a good beer and it was certainly fun to make up to this point.

20140527-212413-77053950.jpg

Evidence (2014)
Style: Belgian Double IPA
Brew Date: 5/27/2014
Serve Date: 7/8/2014
OG: 1.072
Expected FG: 1.008
Approximate ABV: 8.5
IBUs: 70

Fermentables:
87% Pale Malt
13% Light Munich Malt
Plus a half pound of light brown sugar

Hops (all Columbus):
2 oz @ 10 min
3 oz @ 2 min
3 oz @ Flameout
2 oz Dry Hop for last five days of secondary fermentation

Yeast:
White Labs 566 – Belgian Saison II

20140528-121809-44289109.jpg

2 thoughts on “Evidence Belgian Imperial IPA Brew Day

  1. Pingback: Evidence Belgian IPA Tasting Notes | Non-Existent Brewing
  2. Pingback: Evergreen Imperial IPA | Non-Existent Brewing

Leave a Reply

