Hops Week

20140518-184859-67739018.jpg
I had a great weekend at the cabin with Amy. We hiked and I did some “research” for some upcoming Abbey style beers I’m planning. That is a topic for a couple months from now, though. But I also planted some hop rhizomes and that is right on topic.

This is probably not going to be the only Hops Week, but it will be the first. I started growing hops last year and I’m definitely not an expert, but I’ll write about my experience and what I’m doing different this year. I’m also planning to brew two single hop IPAs on Tuesday, with another two coming sometime soon. Between the hops in my backyard, the new crop added to the cabin, this brew session and my plan for the next, it should be a good, hop centric week.

4 thoughts on “Hops Week

    • My original plan was to do a Trippel and a Belgian Dark Strong but I’m starting to toy with the idea of doing ten gallons of wort, splitting them with different yeasts and calling one a Trippel and the other Golden Strong. Whatever I end up deciding on, it’s on my brew schedule for August, so I’m sure it will evolve more between now and then.

      Like

  1. Pingback: French Press Hop Steeping | Non-Existent Brewing
  2. Pingback: Triple Valor Brew Day | Non-Existent Brewing

Leave a Reply

