Summer Swill: The Malt Liquor of Wheat Beers

IMG_20120727_004750
For some reason, I decided that in the Summer of 2012, I would need a strong but Summer-y beer and I would need to make it for cheap. At the time, my thoughts on Summer brews revolved around wheat beer and my thoughts on wheat beers revolved around hefeweizen. To make a strong hefeweizen for cheap, I would forgo the Reinheitsgebot (and ignore weizenbocks) and add some corn sugar to a basic all extract recipe.

My goal was to make two cases of beer of at least 7% ABV for under $30. A seven pound tub of Bavarian Wheat DME ($19.49 after a .50 container return), an ounce of Cascade hops ($2), an ounce of US Tettnang ($2.50, cheaper than German), a packet of Danstar Munich yeast ($2.75 at the time, is it just me or have yeast price skyrocketed recently?) and two pounds of corn sugar ($2.50) achieved this.

IMG_20120401_134815

Summer Swill was, as the label proudly proclaimed, “The Malt Liquor of Wheat Beers.” The flavor of this beer, from what I remember, was pretty much dead on to that description. It had some banana and a whole lot of spicy clove up front, but then it transitioned into that hard to describe but all too familiar to anyone who got through college on forties of Old E, malt liquor aftertaste. Slightly skunky, a little bit sour and very dry.

If “The Malt Liquor of Wheat Beers” sounds good to you, make this. If it sounds repulsive, which is probably more likely, then move right along. This was a fun (and cheap) experiment and I enjoyed it, but I won’t be repeating the recipe any time soon. I recently unearthed one long forgotten bottle of this concoction. I look forward to doing some two-years-too-late tasting notes.

BeerLabelSummerSwill

Summer Swill
Style: American Pale Wheat Beer (sort of)
Brew Date: April 1, 2012
Serve Date: May, 2012

Fermentables:
7 lb Bavarian Wheat LME
2 lb Corn Sugar

Hops:
1 oz Cascade @ 60 min
.5 oz Tettnang @ 30 min
.5 oz Tettnang @ 5 min

Yeast:
Danstar Munich Wheat Dry Yeast

One thought on “Summer Swill: The Malt Liquor of Wheat Beers

  1. Pingback: Summer Swill Tasting Notes | Non-Existent Brewing

Leave a Reply

