Imperial Stout (Midwest Kit)

IMG_20120301_004824

This batch was brewed from this kit with the addition of some oats in the steeping grains.

The instructions for this kit recommend leaving the beer in secondary fermentation for about a year. I gave it five or so months and was still impressed by my own patience. I honestly don’t think it would be too beneficial to bulk age it beyond that, anyway. It will keep aging in the bottle and that way you can enjoy it along the way and see what age you like it at.

IMG_20111019_180357

This beer was very tasty. I know I have at least one (I think only one) bottle of it left. I tried to keep more, but… well, you know how that goes. I was disappointed when I bottled it that I got less beer than normal. There was a ton of yeast left behind both times I racked this beer, from primary to secondary fermentation and then into the bottling bucket. I ended up with barely over a case and a half of finished beer.

IMG_20111112_144552

But it was all delicious. The recipe is below.

BeerLabelImperialStout

Imperial Stout (Midwest Kit)
Style: Imperial Stout
Brew Date: October 2011
Serve Date: March 2012

Fermentables:
8 oz Chocolate Malt
4 oz Crystal 120L
8 oz Roasted Barley
8 oz Flaked Oats
6 lb Dark LME
6 lb Amber LME

Hops:
3 oz. Glacier @ 60 min
1 oz. Willamette @ 2 min

Yeast:
S-04 English Dry Yeast (primary)
Champagne Yeast (added at the start of secondary fermentation)

One thought on “Imperial Stout (Midwest Kit)

  1. Pingback: Grim’s Chin Black IPA | Non-Existent Brewing

Leave a Reply

