Mild Mannered Ale Tasting Notes

20140417-221233.jpg
Style: 11A: Mild
Brew Date: 10/20/2013
Serve Date: 11/15/2013
OG: 1.04
FG: 1.01
ABV: 4%
IBUs: 27

This is one of only a few bottles of this beer left. It was meant to be drunk over the holidays and is, admittedly, a bit past it’s prime. When fresh, it was quite hoppy. Now, that is mostly gone. No more writing from memory, though. Below is my impression of the beer in front of me right now.

This is darker and slightly heavier than I normally make my milds. Despite it’s low alcohol content, I think it would pass as a porter. There is definitely some roast character. The water is a problem. I’ve said before that judges always knocked me for my water, but I never noticed. Now that I have a filter and have used it on my last several batches, going back to this one… it is definitely noticeable. There is a mineral flavor and some chlorine. Not pleasant.

The idea for this beer was to hop up an English Mild with American hops. The hops are no longer present, though. Now, this is just okay, slightly boring dark ale. As I was afraid of when starting these tasting notes, but to this point has not been a problem… I just don’t have much else to say about this beer.

The nose is roasty with some oxidation. There is some licorice and coffee in the flavor, but both are mild and gone immediately when swallowed. The finish is clean, almost like a Schwarzbier. At five months old, this beer has lost it’s way. I have fond memories, I hope they’re accurate.

I’m stalling. I have close to half my beer left and I’m out of things to say. I’ll stop. Sorry. I’m a little sad. I haven’t had one of these in a while and now I’m wondering if they were ever as good as I remember… No, really. Done now. Look away.

Leave a Reply

