My First Batch and Beans and Brews Reminder

For the last three days, I’ve been covering the beers I’ll be taking to the second annual Elizabethtown Beans and Brews. The event is tomorrow, from 5:00-8:00 PM behind the public library in E-Town, Pa. Check out this post for more information, and please come out.

There is another big beer related event you may have heard of next week. Saint Patrick’s Day is on Monday. I don’t usually do anything to celebrate other than maybe getting a Guinness at the Irish pub down the street. I have brewed a couple Irish style beers, though.


My first batch was brewed from this recipe kit: http://www.midwestsupplies.com/irish-red-ale-kit.html I’m not sure what made me pick an Irish Red Ale for my first homebrew, I don’t have much experience with the style. I always enjoyed Killian’s in college (I know, I know),
but it was a great beer to start with. It was smooth and malty but balanced and delicious… from what I remember. I don’t know what level of rose colored glasses I’m wearing, but this beer definitely got me excited to brew more.

I saved about ten bottles of it and try to drink one on the anniversary of the day it was brewed. No, it is not meant to age and that definitely shows, but it’s still a fun tradition. I will post about it when I drink this year’s bottle.

Expect some more short posts like this coming up as I try to work through my early batches. There is not as much to say about extract kits I made three years ago, but I want to make sure I record all of them here. The other Irish beer I made was a Dry Stout, which I actually did brew for Saint Patrick’s Day last year, though not for any specific event. There is a little more to write about with that one, and my post will be here on Monday.

Style: Irish Red Ale
Brew Date: 6/21/2011
Serve Date: July 2011

Fermentables:
6 lb. Gold liquid malt extract

Steeping Grains:
12 oz. Caramel 40L
2 oz. Special B
2 oz. Roasted Barley

Hops:
1 oz. Cascade @ 60 minutes
1 oz. Fuggle @ 5 minutes

Yeast:
Munton Fission Ale Yeast

One thought on “My First Batch and Beans and Brews Reminder

  1. Pingback: Celebrating Three Years of Homebrewing: Irish Red Ale Tasting Notes | Non-Existent Brewing

Leave a Reply

